Site-based air tightness testing

UKAS accredited, ATTMA Level 2, air tightness testing (also known as air leakage testing) of all commercial and domestic buildings to satisfy the requirements of Approved Document L.

As a UKAS-accredited and registered member of the Air Tightness Testing and Measurement Association (ATTMA), Exova is independently approved to carry out air leakage testing of all commercial and domestic building types.

Testing is conducted based upon ATTMA Technical Standards (required by the current revisions of Building Regulations Approved Document L1 & L2) and CIBSE TM23.
What is air tightness?
Air tightness is about minimising the uncontrolled flow of air both into and out of a building through gaps and cracks. Uncontrolled air flow accounts for a large proportion of the energy wasted in buildings. Achieving improved air tightness is a key factor in building contractors meeting the Government’s targets for reduced carbon emissions and improved energy efficiency.

Air tightness is a key requirement of Approved Document L Parts 1 & 2 of the Building Regulations for England and Wales, without which, Building Control will not provide a Completion Certificate.

Testing is conducted based upon ATTMA Technical Standards (required by Building Regulations Approved Document 1 & 2). 
Exova's air tightness testing services
Exova delivers a comprehensive air tightness testing service with no hidden extras. We provide added value by helping our clients to achieve ongoing improvement based on practical guidance and advice before, during and after air tightness testing.
The ATTMA Scheme
In January 2015, the ATTMA Scheme for Competent Air Tightness Testing Firms and their Testers (The ATTMA Scheme) was launched. It is an industry competence scheme authorised by the DCLG and specified in Approved Document L1 & L2 of the Building Regulations. It is based on the performance criteria and knowledge requirements set out in the suite of National Occupation Standards (NOS) and under the requirements of the Minimum Technical Competence (MTC) document.

There are three levels of tester:

Level 1: Testers can test dwellings and non-dwellings up to 4000mgross envelope volume when tested as a single entity, with a single fan.

Level 2: Testers can test all buildings except large, complex and or high-rise buildings and or phased handover or zonal buildings unless part of a team managed by a Level 3 tester.

Level 3: Air tightness experts who can cover large, complex and or high-rise buildings and or phased handover or zonal compartmentalisation.
Why choose an ATTMA Registered Company?
ATTMA is approved by DCLG and are listed in the Building Regulations as an authorised Competent Persons Scheme for air tightness testing.

As an ATTMA Level 2 registered company, Exova is independently audited and certified by UKAS and certified by ATTMA with a scope covering air tightness testing to the ATTMA Technical Standards (TSL1 & TSL2) and BS EN: 13829 (2001), demonstrating knowledge and understanding, which enables us to test both commercial and domestic developments in accordance with relevant building regulations.
Related services
Contact us
+44 (0)1494 569 658
Get site-based testing news
News and offers from Exova's site-based testing team
Subscribe now
UKAS accreditation