Structural steel

CE marking for structural steel to BSEN 1090-1 Execution of steel structures & aluminium structures.

As of 1st July 2014, CE marking for structural steel to BS EN 1090-1 will become mandatory for products sold on the EU construction market. Therefore, anyone designing and / or manufacturing steel frame or steel components for the European market, including the UK, must comply, and failure to do so can have serious consequences to you and your business.

How to achieve CE certification

To achieve CE certification, manufacturers, contractors and fabricators will need to demonstrate compliance to BS EN 1090-1: 2009 + A1:2011 Execution of steel structures and aluminium structures part 1 – Requirements for conformity assessment of structural components.

The standard explains that all structural steel is safety critical and therefore all manufacturing will need to be carried out in a controlled manner. This means that the manufacturer / distributor must document and implement a Factory Production Control (FPC) system and have the system certified by a Notified Body. The manufacturer / distributor will also need to produce a Declaration of Performance (DoP). This is a legal document that must be produced by the manufacturer / distributor and supplied with the product(s).

BS EN 1090-2: 2008 Execution of steel structures and aluminium structures part 2 – Technical requirements for the execution of steel structures, outlines what is required to ensure steel structures and components meet adequate levels of mechanical resistance, stability, serviceability and durability. The standard sets out four Execution Classes (EXC’s), as given below. These classes are based on the end use of the structure and how critical it would be if it failed.
  • EXC1 – e.g. Agricultural buildings
  • EXC2 – e.g. Residential or Commercial structures
  • EXC3 – e.g. Bridges
  • EXC4 – e.g. Special structures (long-span bridges etc)
For EXC2, 3 and 4 all welding activities must be controlled by a Responsible Welding Coordinator (RWC).
Responsible Welding Coordinator (RWC)
Manufacturers / distributors of products falling within EXC2, 3 and 4 must have, or have access to, a Responsible Welding Co-ordinator (RWC) and all welding functions must be supervised / controlled by the RWC.

If the RWC fulfils the requirements of the following, then the competency requirements for an RWC is deemed to be met:
  • International Welding Engineer (IWE)
  • International Welding Technologist (IWT)
  • International Welding Specialist (IWS)
Otherwise the RWC must demonstrate competence to the requirements of EN ISO 14731, Welding coordination - Tasks and responsibilities, and the relevant part of EN ISO 3834, Quality requirements for fusion welding of metallic materials.

This competence must be proved by means of a training certificate that specifically states the training covered the requirements of the above standards and the training provider must be deemed acceptable by Exova BM TRADA.
Contact us
+44 (0) 7733 384 186
Sub-Contract Auditor Vacancies
Due to continued growth Exova BM TRADA are looking for sub-contractor auditors
For more information click here